Book review: The Breakup Doctor by Phoebe Fox

Image

 

*Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

What a great debut this was! Being a debut, I really had no expectations though I must admit, being such a sucker for pretty covers, I kind of had a feeling this would be totally up my alley. Once again, I was right.

Brook (Real name Brook Lyn – HA!) is the owner of a private practice and seems to have it all, till one day she looses her offices and is forced to start over again. All her life, she’s been counseling her friends on relationships, so it only seemed natural to Brook’s friend, Sasha, she should pursue a career on this field. With a bit of help from her friend, Brook sets on this new venture, becoming a Breakup Doctor, advising people in person, in columns and on the radio. BUT, what happens when things turn ugly and Brook is no longer able to listen to her own advice? How can you advise people on how to have a healthy love relationship when your own love life sucks?

This was such a fun read! I did expect few more laughs, but despite not being hilarious, it totally was my cup of tea. I loved the writing, so easy to follow and most of the story was fast paced. There were couple of times I wish the author didn’t go into so much detail, but overall it was an enjoyable read that I devoured in one (or two?) sittings. I really liked Brook, who’s not the every day chick lit heroine. She’s mature and knows exactly what she wants. She’s very good at her work and is a fantastic friend and daughter. She’s very down-to-earth and exactly the type of girl I would love to be friends with. Unlike her, Sasha is the more sassy one, but they make such a great team.

The Breakup Doctor was a surprisingly good read, honestly. I loved how the author manages to balance between humor and seriousness, getting me invested in the story totally. Would I read more from this author? Absolutely! Do I recommend it? Of course, it would be a perfect thing to bring with you on your summer holidays. Great beach read, perfect for your lazy, sunny days.

My rating: 4/5

ananda-signature4

Posted on June 17, 2014, in review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I have this to read, so looking forward to it even more now 🙂

  2. I’m reading this at the moment and loving it! Hope you are well, hon, Sooz x

  3. Great review of a great new book! Thanks for taking the time to read and review it for the rest of us and keep an eye out for the upcoming sequels!

    -Kaitlyn R.
    Social Media Marketing Intern
    henerypress.com

  4. This sounds like a very good book! Great review, I love your blog!

    • Thanks lovely, if you read this book anytime soon, make sure you come back and let us know how you find it.I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. Thanks so much for the lovely comment XX

Leave a Reply

