Blog Tour: In the Mirror by Kaira Rouda Review + Giveaway

Image

 

*Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

In the Mirror is the first book by Kaira Rouda that I have read. Not being familiar with her writing style, I didn’t have any expectations for this book. The blurb sounded great, and though I’m not the biggest fan of sad stories or stories about sicknesses I decided to give this book a go.

However, whatever it was I was expecting from the blurb, I got something else. The story itself was rather complex, at times even too complex for me to digest. Jennifer Benson is the main character and is facing a deadly illness while being only 34 years old. Knowing she might leave this world too early she decides to celebrate her life by hosting a party. Now, despite the fact that I love her attitude and the fact she’s fighting the illness and mocking it in its face, I have to admit this attitude seems a bit strange to me. It’s either that, or the fact I didn’t feel Jennifer as strong as the author tries to portray her. She’s also very indecisive and I must admit the love triangle left me disappointed.

It would be awkward to say this is an enjoyable book, because it’s serious and deals with a tough subject. However, it’s definitely thought provoking and one that will take you by surprise. I couldn’t relate to the main MC as much as a tried too, but I can totally see many readers connecting to Jennifer. Either way, even if you don’t really connect to Jennifer, you will be able to at least get a glimpse of her life, and all the horror she’s going through. You’ll root for her (or against the illness) and you’ll start thinking about your own life. I’m quite sure of this! I would read couple of pages, than pause and try to see all the good stuff happening around me, remind myself of everything I’m blessed with. 

In the Mirror is certainly a complex story and not your every day read. At least, it wasn’t for me. I stepped off my comfort zone with this book, but at the end, I’m glad I did it. I’m glad I picked it up and would definitely read Ms. Rouda’s other books.

My rating: 3/5

Image

 About the author

Image

Kaira Rouda is an award-winning entrepreneur and author of both fiction and nonfiction. Her books include: Real You Incorporated: 8 Essentials for Women EntrepreneursHere, Home, HopeAll the Difference; and the short story, A Mother’s Day.  She lives in Southern California with her husband and four children and is at work on her next novel.

Connect with her on Twitter, @KairaRouda, and on Facebook at Kaira Rouda Books. And of course, on Pinterest! For more about Kaira and her books, please visit her website KairaRouda.com.

GIVEAWAY

The US/Canada giveaway on tour is : a cozy throw,  a scented candle and a coffee or tea mug.

Image

The International giveaway on tour is: A signed copy of all of the authors novels, including In the Mirror.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted on May 27, 2014, in blog tour, giveaway, review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the giveaway.

  2. I’m liking the sound of this one 🙂

  3. Maria Theresa Santos

    Thanks for the giveaway

  4. Thank you for your honest review and supporting Kaira on tour Ana.
    Shaz
    x

  5. Jessica Meddick

    I love her!

  6. This for your review, Amanda!

Leave a Reply

