Book review: The Divorced Not Dead Workshop by CeCe Osgood

Image

 

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

Dorsey Bing got divorced five years ago. Since than, boyfriends come and go, no one is “the real thing’. So she has an idea, to create a workshop for divorced people, how to move on after the divorce. Her only supporter is her friend Pilar. But Dorsey’s widowed stepfather is getting married and the bride, Audrey,wants Dorsey to be her bridesmaid. They organize the wedding on a cruise, the very same weekend when the workshop starts. Plan B: The workshop moves on the cruise. But Pilar is nowhere to be seen, so Dorsey starts on her own. But she never planned her ex Theo to show up on the boat. Also, that horrible Finn, Audrey’s nephew is there for the wedding. And Dorsey has to run the workshop all by herself.

Dorsey Bing is such an adorable MC. Always clumsy, with so many bright ideas, always there for the others. She is really a nice person, but when it comes to men, she always listens to others. After the break-up with Theo, her recent boyfriend, she doesn’t trust men anymore. But there is Finn, Audrey’s nephew who’s always been the bad boy, according to Theo. He shows up on the wedding, and there is Theo again, trying to gain her heart again. Dorsey reminds me a lot of Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice. Who is Mr. Darcy, well, I’ll leave you to read the book.

The adventureon the boat is full of emotional moments, but funny ones too. There were many scenes that made me laugh so hard. Dorsey and Pilar are such a dynamic duo. And the boys, well Finn, with that British accent, mmmm! And Theo has such a gorgeous body.

Overall, it’s a enjoyable read with a serious theme to discuss, how to move on after the divorce. I loved all the characters and the plot, which reminded me a lot of Pride and Prejudice, as I mentioned before. It’s an interesting mix and I totally enjoyed it.

My rating: 4/5

Image

 

Posted on May 17, 2014, in review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great book, I might give it a try too!

  2. Thank you for reviewing my novel. I’m glad you enjoyed Dorsey and the “gang” as much as I enjoyed writing them. Your comment “many scenes that made me laugh so hard” made me smile and totally put me in good mood! CeCe

  3. Hello Marina: I was wondering if you could post your review for The Divorced Not Dead Workshop on Amazon? I did see it on Goodreads, but not the Mighty ‘Zon. Thank you. CeCe Osgood

Leave a Reply

