Book review: Honeymoon in Paris by Juliette Sobanet + INT Giveaway

Image

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

I’m a HUUUGEEE fan of Juliette Sobanet and she got on my list of favorite authors immediately after I read her debut ‘Sleeping with Paris’ (back in 2011). That book was just so much fun! Naturally, I was over the moon when I got the opportunity to read the sequel and see what Charlotte is up to now.

For those who haven’t read ‘Sleeping with Paris’, fear not my friends. There’s enough information in this sequel about the MC’s past, so it can be easily read as a stand-alone. Still, I advise you to read the first part too, mostly because of it’s awesomeness.

So, lovely Charlotte is back, now she’s a year older and more mature and she’s marrying the love of her life. The wild lady who started up a blog dedicated to how to date like a man, fell madly in love, stopped blogging and decided to dedicate herself to Luc and her stepdaughter.

And she’s gonna have the honeymoon every woman dreams of, except…of meeting Luc’s ex-wife. No, that part is definitely more like a worse nightmare, and could ruin her honeymoon. Things start to get complicated when Charlotte finds out Luc has been keeping many secrets from her. They are mostly family business and things connected with his dad. But what kind of life could she expect with a man who’s starting to build their mutual life on lies?

Without wanting to spoil this book for you, I’ll just say – be prepared for lots of drama and some mystery.
Recently I read Juliette’s book ‘Dancing with Paris’ which is not part of this series, and though I enjoyed it I realized Juliette’s writing has changed quite a bit during the years. Now, don’t get me wrong, she’s still a brilliant author, but unlike her debut and first part of this series, seems Juliette started experimenting with genres. ‘Honeymoon in Paris’ has less romance and more drama, action and mystery. I’d say it’s a mixture of chick lit and cozy mystery, which really is fine with me, still I kind of wanted more romance and humor.

Some of the things were bit over the top for me, and even for a chick lit (I don’t say this in a bad way) they somehow felt way too surreal. And yes, that’s what fiction is all about – make you escape reality, however, I do value a good dose of realism in my books (or in MCs).

That said, I have to admit I enjoyed this book less than ‘Sleeping with Paris’. Still I’m glad I read it and I’m so happy to get together with Charlotte once again. Though she’s matured, she’s still the lovely, cute, up-beat Charlotte I fell in love with years ago. I loved her friends, though I must say, they do end up in loads of trouble!

Overall, this was a quick, easy and enjoyable read. If you’re a fan of chick lit with strong cozy mystery elements, I do recommend you check this book out. I’m sure I’ll be reading everything Juliette writes in the future, and am really intrigued by all these transformations she’s going through as a writer.

My rating: 3.5/5

Image

GIVEAWAY:

Thanks to lovely Juliette, we have an 3 e-copies of ‘Honeymoon in Paris’ to give away. The giveaway is open internationally and closes on March 31th. The winners will be contacted by e-mail and will have 48 hours to claim their prize by responding to our e-mail. In case we don’t hear from them in 48 h, we’ll have to pick another winner. This Chick Reads is not responsible for the delivering of your prize. This giveaway is sponsored by Juliette Sobanet. Enter through rafflecopter and best of luck!

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted on March 24, 2014, in giveaway, review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Paris is my Favorite place, no wonder there. So anything and everything written about Paris makes me wanna read it, like bible to me. Being a novel, chick-lit, honeymoon, OMG I am biased hope to read it sooooon.

  2. Sounds like a lovely book. Just entered the giveaway!

  3. !! Another fab giveaway – thank you 😉
    Paris reminds me of… Disney Land. Sad, I know, but I’ve only been to Paris as a kid… to visit Disney! Planning on changing that SOON! Than hopefully I’ll reply with more appropriate things like coffees, boutiques, Louvre,… 😉
    xx

  4. Doesn’t remind me, sniff. Have never been before, can you believe it???? Have been almost everywhere, but not in France:( Yet 🙂

  5. Romance!!

  6. Fantastic giveaway!
    Paris reminds me of my first holiday without my parents. My best friend and I travelled to Paris back in 2009 and spent a beautiful week of holiday there.

  7. Paris, when I think of it as I have not yet been there, reminds me of warm spring evenings and wonderful perfumes.

  8. Sheerie Franks

    Paris reminds me of several books I have read, LOVE, PARIS AND GOOD FOOD!!! Thank you for the chance of the give-away and a great blog Ana xxxx

Leave a Reply

