Guest post: Elle Field

They say three is a magic number – well, my debut novel Kept was released last April, which was followed by Geli Voyante’s Hot or Not last October – so this year sees the release of my third book, can you believe it?

There’s a lot more going on this time round though. I was lucky enough to write my first two books when and where I wanted, but book three needs to be written alongside my day job. Admittedly, I did do the final edits alongside a day job in the end but, all-in-all, the books were pretty much there at that stage and I had no meltdowns where I wanted to burn the entire manuscript and start again! Now I have to do a magical juggling act though and balance a day job with writing a novel and having some sort of life, although the lives of my characters and their calamites will no doubt take over and become my number one priority once I start writing!

One thing I’ve investigated, which should definitely help me make the most of my day, is the local library. Now, libraries are magical places anyway – I mean, they let you take lovely books away for absolutely nothing to devour at your leisure, which is pretty spectacular when you think about it – so one thing I’m going to do is utilise the library by my day job a few times a week and get some words cranked out! The library is also just round the corner from Dr Johnson’s House so maybe at the same time I will soak up some of the genius of the man who wrote one of the most influential dictionaries in the history of the English language. Perhaps I’ll end up writing the most influential chick lit book of the decade? It’s a nice thought!

Another thing I must do, which will definitely make room for some writing time, is stop my habit… my addiction… my compulsion. You see, as a writer, I have this love of books. I find it very easy to get drawn into the worlds of other authors and I just want to binge read their book for seven hours straight until I know what’s what. OK, as far as habits go it’s certainly not the worst one to have, but if I curb my enthusiasm just a little bit then my third book will be with you lovely lot that little bit quicker!

So, what will I be working on this year in my freed up hours? There will be Lost, which is the sequel to Kept. You’ll get to find out whether Arielle gets her happily ever after now she’s back in London, plus you’ll also get to see a lot more of Ob. I know some people will be very pleased to hear this – I have a big soft spot for him, too! The other book I am hoping to release this year is The Dirtification of Tabitha-Rose – some readers might recall a character called Tabitha popping up in Kept… She is that very same character, and I can’t wait to share her story with you. Wish me luck!

 

About the Author

Elle Field is a twenty-something chick lit author who lives in London with her boyfriend. She enjoys exploring and photographing Blighty’s capital, seeing far too many musicals, and eating her way around London’s culinary delights.

Her debut novel Kept was released last year, which was followed by Geli Voyante’s Hot or Not. Both are available in Kindle and paperback formats. Watch out this year for the release of Kept’s sequel, Lost, as well as The Dirtification of Tabitha-Rose.

 

Geli Voyante’s Hot or Not blurb:

‘I think I will always be known as the Hot or Not girl, defined by it for the rest of my career. Even my tombstone will read: Angelica “Geli” Voyante, beloved trendsetter. Death? Not Hot.

Yet, it doesn’t sound right. Why won’t anyone realise that there is more to me than this fickle persona I have inadvertently become?’

Geli Voyante is bored of being the Hot or Not girl, even if it has the perk of sitting next to Theo, the newspaper’s very Hot political columnist. She’s also getting a little lonely being single.

When her arch-nemesis Tiggy Boodles gets engaged, and other loved ones start to settle down, it’s time for Geli to convince Theo that she’s not as shallow as her column suggests and, more importantly, she’s the one for him. Geli should remember though that there are always two sides to every story, and that applies to people too…

 

Geli UK link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Geli-Voyantes-Hot-Elle-Field-ebook/dp/B00FY12QUM

Geli US link: http://www.amazon.com/Geli-Voyantes-Hot-Elle-Field-ebook/dp/B00FY12QUM

Kept UK link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kept-ebook/dp/B00CHCOO7E

Kept US link: http://www.amazon.com/Kept-ebook/dp/B00CHCOO7E

Posted on January 30, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for having me on the blog! xx

Leave a Reply

