Book review: White Lies by Emily Harper

Image*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

Well, well, well… Helen Fielding’s fans, Sophie Kinsella’s fans, there’s a new chick lit author ready to conquer the stage! Emily Harper might be new on the chick lit scene, but trust me, she KNOWS what readers want and what’s more important, this debut really feels like breath of fresh air.

I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since I saw the cover, which by the way I think is very chic and girly. When I was asked to review it, I couldn’t be happier. I mean, discovering new authors and brilliant fresh reads is the most interesting part of a blogger’s life.

I didn’t have any expectations, but I did have a strong feeling this will be a good chick lit read. I was close because it’s not just good, it’s FANTASTIC!

The story is centered around Natalie Flemming, an accountant in a shoe-designing company. Now Natalie is sure one of the loveliest, funniest, cutest MC I’ve read about lately. She’s just so upbeat, I could literally feel her energy bursting out of the pages.

She’s on her quest for Mr.Right and even decides to write an ad in the papers. But wait, she’s NOT desperate or whiny, so don’t you dare go that way. Once you meet Natalie you’ll see she’s one of the happiest fictional characters you’ve come across with.

But back to the story now and sorry for getting a bit distracted (it does happen when a book leaves a strong impression on me). Her company is going through some hard time and a new guy steps on the scene, Oliver, who’s supposed to get everything back on track. But the thing is, Natalie is not aware of who he is or why he’s been employed by the company. But she’s sure about one thing, he’s drop dead gorgeous and she might be a bit attracted to him. Seems both Natalie and the management of Makka (the shoe company she works for) will need to make some decisions while going through so many changes.

This is such a feel-good read, a typical summer read you’d definitely want to have on those lazy days offering you lots of laughs and fun. Natalie is a totally lovable character that will win you over from the first page. She’s like Kinsella’s Becky, but less obsessed with shopping (though she’s still mad about fashion). But there aren’t really that many references to brands (I remember only ones for Makka, which is fine considering it’s the company she works for). I’m saying this, because I’ve met many people who dislike this constant mentioning of brands in books, but in this case, you have nothing to fear my dears.

You’ll root for Natalie, you might even drool over Oliver (or the Makka shoes they design)…but anyway, you’ll devour this book in one sitting, I’m quite sure of that. It’s funny, easy read, hilarious at times, and will leave you with a big smile on your face. The romance part is brilliantly written and gradually built (which is very important for me) and each of these characters feel very real.

I wonder if the author is planning on a sequel? I’m not sure, but I do hope I get to see Natalie and Oliver once again. I loved them both THAT much!

In the mean time, I sure will be checking out Emily Harper’s new novel ‘Checking Inn’, because I’ve already heard fantastic comments. If you’re a chick lit fan or generally, looking for an easy and feel-good read that will make you relax after an exhausting day, THIS is the book for you.

My rating: 4.5/5

ImageBuy ‘White Lies’ on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Find Emily Harper on her site, facebook and twitter

Posted on January 14, 2014, in review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

