Book review: Double Click by Lisa Becker

Image*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

‘Double Click’ is the sequel to ‘Click’ which I read last year (read my review here) and ever since I’ve been dying to get my hands on the second book. Naturally, I was over the moon when the author kindly has offered me to read it in exchange for an honest review.

I simply couldn’t wait to start reading and see what life turn out to be for Renee, Shelley, Ashley and Mark. They are such a jolly bunch and their e-mails…boy oh boy are they funny and interesting.
Speaking of e-mails, just like the first installment, ‘Double Click’ is also written in the form of e-mail correspondence. Now this format might not work for everyone, but worked absolutely brilliant for me. Since I was already familiar with the characters I didn’t have any problem whatsoever to follow their chats. So, if you love fun chick lit you’ll devour in just couple of hours and you want to check out this series, maybe it’s wiser to start with the first part, because the plot is strongly connected to the first novel (not just the same characters).

‘Click’ is still fresh in my memory, though I’ve not read it that recently. But I really liked the story and the characters left a strong impression on me, so I didn’t need to go back to the first part to re-read it in order to continue with this one. Renee is same Renee, romantic, nice, kind. She’s very much happy and in love with her boyfriend. Ashley is on her way to become a mommy and Shelley (my favorite character) is going through a radical change. Why radical? Well if you’ve read the first part you’ll know what I’m talking about.

This is an easy and light read about friendship and love. It’s actually more about friendship, the every day things friends talk about, the history of these characters which is to say the least, very interesting since they’ve been friends for quite some time.

However, though I really enjoyed it I admit I enjoyed the first part a bit more. I mean, I love the transformation Shelley is going through (though I’d still love to consider her as a WILD THING) and I loved the fact each of these characters has grown and became more mature, but somehow I found it less funny and amusing (when compared to ‘Click’). And as happy as I am that good old Mark found a girl he’s crazy about, I really disliked her and think she’s totally unnecessary addition to the book. It seemed to me she didn’t contribute to the plot in ANY way whatsoever. But, I’m definitely not sorry for reading it because it felt really nice being with the gang once again. And I’m beyond happy to hear there will be a third part coming this year, however I still don’t know the exact date.

If you’re a fan of light hearted reads or the TV show Friends (and I know many of you are) then I certainly recommend this book to you.

My rating: 3/5

Image

Posted on January 12, 2014, in review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

