All I Want For Christmas Day 20 with Talli Roland

Hey dear readers, we continue our Christmas Countdown and today we have a very special guest, someone we adore both as a writer and as a person, Talli Roland. Talli is one of the nicest authors we had the pleasure to chat to on twitter and we were thrilled when she agreed to do a guest post for our Christmas Feature. She’s a well know chick lit author and has written many books among which the Serenity Holland series, Watching Willow Watts, The Pollyanna Plan and couple of novellas. She has also recently released the festive novella, Last Christmas, which we loved and definitely recommend wholeheartedly (read our review here).  Enjoy her post guys, and many thanks to Talli for being our guest.

This year, all I want for Christmas is just that: Christmas.

 Last year, I got the best gift ever. My son was born two weeks early, on Christmas Eve. How can any other present compete with that? As I cradled my baby in the hospital, the world shrunk down to the tiny bundle in my arms, banishing all other thoughts – even Christmas! – from my mind. Cloistered away in the sterile ward, the only sign of the holiday was the Christmas cracker on my lunch tray, nestled against a slice of very limp beef.

So, this year, I plan to have the Christmas to end all Christmases! Not only will we be celebrating my son’s first birthday, but we’ll also be traveling home to Canada, to spend three weeks with my parents. Canada during Christmastime is magical. You’re never guaranteed a white Christmas, but it’s much more likely than in the UK. We often venture into the frosty air to cut down our own tree, and I love the scent of pine that wafts through the house. There’s something about wrapping up in a blanket knit by my grandmother as my mum bakes her legendary chocolate-chip cookies that feels so warm and cosy.

Forget the presents, forget the wine (can’t believe I just typed that!), and forget Santa. I’ve already received a Christmas gift no-one can top.

Now I just want to sit back and celebrate.

About Talli Roland

ImageI write humorous, romantic fiction with just a touch of snark. I live in London, on a street with two Starbucks and (at last count) three other cafés that I can’t go to because I’m always broke, forcing me to stay home in my cozy little flat and make my own increasingly stonger brew.

I have a secret crush on Sir Alan of The Apprentice and if I was forced to wax anyone’s hairy chest it would have to be Simon Cowell.   Clearly I watch too much reality television.

And let this be my confession: I thoroughly enjoy the Daily Mail.

My debut novel, The Hating Game, was an Amazon Top 100 bestseller and short-listed for Best Romantic Read at the UK’s Festival of Romance, and my second, Watching Willow Watts, was selected as a 2011 Amazon Customer Favourite. Build A Man is my latest release. I also write the 24 Hours travel guides under the name Marsha Moore.

Find Talli Roland on her blog, facebook and twitter
Buy ‘Last Christmas’ on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Posted on December 20, 2013, in All I Want For Christmas, guest post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

