All I Want For Christmas: Day 16 – Book review: The Parisian Christmas Bake Off by Jenny Oliver

Image*Copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*

“You are going to Paris.

I’m not going to Paris.

Yeah, you are. To bake with Henri Salernes.”

Rachel loves to cook. She doesn’t have many things in her life, but she has friends that love her very much. So, they sign her up for Paris’s next patisserie apprentice. She travels to Paris to prove herself that she is a star baker. And Henri Salernes is not nice guy at all. Among professional cooks, who step over other peple to achieve their goals, Rachel doesn’t have a chance. Or, maybe she does. Who knows? So, Rachel, ready, set, cook!

I immediately fell the connection with Rachel’s character. She is the girl next door that everyone loves. She loves children, so she works as a teacher. Rachel has always loved cooking because cooking is the only thing that connects her with her mother who died when Rachel was a child. Her mother owned a bakery, so Rachel spent her childhood helping her mom in the kitchen. Spending a week in the most romantic city in the world is a chance for a new beginning, making a dream come true, to open her mother’s bakery again, and maybe, just maybe, a chance for a kiss under the mistletoe.  Among many professional cooks, Rachel feels helpless, but she is not a person who quits. Because there is always the memory of her mom’s words: “Just one more try hunny, just for me”. She would never step over other people to achieve her own ambitions. All she needs for winning the prize is to cook, and to believe in herself.

I must confess, I love Christmas and cooking. Christmas books with cooking patisseries make me hungry, really hungry. So here’s what I do: read a page, go to the kitchen :).  I hope I won’t gain much weight till Christmas. I loved all those dishes mentioned in the book. I almost could smell the cinnamon cookies.

And Paris, awww, Paris. I loved Paris. I loved the way Rachel saw Paris. I could almost feel the city, like actually being there.

‘The Parisian Christmas Bake Off ‘ is a charming and warm read, one you will not be able to put down once you start reading. It’s a brilliant debut and I’m definitely gonna be on a watch out for Jenny’s next books.

My rating: 4.5/5

Image

Buy ‘The Parisian Christmas Bake Off’ on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Find Jenny Oliver on twitter

Posted on December 16, 2013, in All I Want For Christmas, review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I overlooked this book on the shelves because there are so many Christmas books about this year, but now I want to read it because I like the sound of Rachel’s character!

Leave a Reply

