All I Want For Christmas: Day 14 – Book review: Last Christmas by Talli Roland

Image*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*

It happens rarely that I give a novella 5*. Actually I think this might be the second time in my life, first one being when I read ‘Swim’ by Jennifer Weiner. Well, it’s not I’m a stingy reader, but I’ve read quite a lot of books and personally think someones needs to be very very good at writing to impress me with 50-100 pages.
But Talli Roland did it! As I read the last page and put down the kindle I thought OMG, THIS IS SO SOOOOOO MUCH BETTER THAN I EXPECTED!

The story is centered around Lucy who’s been dumped last Christmas and naturally is not looking forward to this one. Instead of thinking of Christmas as a fun and festive time, she’s reminded of her past and the man who dumped her on very Christmas day. Robert has been his first lover, her best friend, someone she relied on for 15 years. Losing him leaves her more than heart broken. She actually thinks she will never be merry for Christmas. And after just one year of their break up she finds out he’s getting married on Christmas! Trying to get away from an awkward and humiliating situation when meeting Robert and his future wife, she comes up with an epic lie. She tells them she’s gonna host a mega party for Christmas and won’t be able to make it to their wedding. She feels like everything but partying, but ‘when a door closes, a window opens’.

This is a brilliant novella! I totally loved everything about it, from the unique story, the twists I totally didn’t expect to the characters who are brilliantly developed. Lucy is a fantastic girl, she’s not whiny and doesn’t act ll depressed (though she’s heart broken) and she surprised me with how kind she is, despite everything Robert did to her.
This novella was a pretty strange experience (but a good one) for me, I was literally blown away by this read. I do wish it was longer, but still it’s a fantastic story I’m sure everyone will enjoy. It got me immediately hooked and held me till the last page. It’s a fantastic festive and feel good read, one you’ll devour in just an hour (or less). So, do not hesitate and get it now, you’ll enjoy it – I promise! Well done Talli, I AM YOUR FAN!

My rating: 5/5

Image

Buy ‘Last Christmas’ on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Find Talli Roland on her blog, facebook and twitter

Posted on December 14, 2013, in All I Want For Christmas, review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

