All I Want For Christmas Day 11 with Ruth Saberton

Today we have the honour and pleasure to welcome another great chick lit author to our blog, Ruth Saberton. Ruth has recently published her novella ‘Weight Till Christmas’ (which we will be reviewing soon) and today she’s here to talk about her Christmas in the Caribbean. Enjoy!

ImageIt’s Christmas? Already? Now I know I must be getting old because I’m sure it was only the other day that we packed the car with gifts and headed up the M5 for the annual family Festive visit.  One mountain of food, a slump in front of the Telly and sugar high Jeb Cawlis could BASE jump from later and it’s home again to untangle fairy lights and shove the tree back into the loft. I’m sure I only just put them back!

If last year somebody had told me that fast forward 12 months I’d be living in the Caribbean I would have laughed out loud. I was happy in Cornwall, loved my job in a local school and had three horses to look after.  Moving away was not on my agenda at all.  But life has a strange habit of throwing a curve ball at you and her I now am living on Grand Cayman in sweltering heat and writing novels under the Caribbean sun.

There’s something very surreal about driving along in blazing sunshine with the air conditioning cranked up and while listening to Christmas music on the radio.  Chestnuts might be roasting on an open fire in Europe but the only thing cooking in Cayman is the jerk pork smoking on the roadside barbeques.  Yuletide carols aren’t so much sung by choirs as rejigged as reggae anthems and nobody would be daft enough to dress up like an Eskimo.  When it’s thirty-two degrees all mention of sleigh bells and white Christmases seem as real to my daily life as a trip to the moon.  So when I began to think about all I want for Christmas I had to think very hard – you don’t need much more here than a bikini and sunscreen!  Life is certainly a lot simpler.  Who needs ipads and Xboxes and designer clothes when the turquoise sea and icing sugar sand is free to be enjoyed?  And although we have so many shops here that I could buy diamonds and Rolexes all day long (if I was a millionaire like so many people here!) I have no desire for anything like that.

I guess my Christmas wishes are not for material things at all but instead for something far less tangible.   Being far away from home at Christmas is hard and I do miss everyone.  My Yuletide wish would be to have my friends and family visit me here and spend some time in this beautiful place.  I’d love my brother to feel the warm sun on his bad back and for my nieces and nephews to swim in the bath water warm sea.  I’d like nothing more than to see all my loved ones here and share the island with them.

Then there are my writing dreams too.  If Santa could make those come true then I would love to write full time in 2014.  Nothing makes me happier than telling stories and hearing how much my readers enjoy them.  I’d love to be able to devote all my working day to writing.  My new book will be out in the spring too and I’d love to reach lots of new readers.

And finally – if Santa does read this – I asked for a pony when I was eight and I’m still waiting! I don’t have a chimney here so delivery is easy – just leave him on the balcony…

Merry Christmas! xx

About Ruth Saberton

ImageI always knew I wanted to be a writer. From an early age I was busy filling note books with stories and rather than hero worshiping Wham and reading Just 17 (which ages me!) Rather than George and Andrew my heroes were Jilly Cooper and Jackie Collins. Several failed attempts at bodice rippers later, I turned my attention to romance and now focus on writing romantic comedies. My debut novel, ‘Katy Carter Wants a Hero’ was championed by Richard and Judy and nominated for the RNA’s Romantic Comedy of the Year Award as well as being described by Heat Magazine as, ‘the heir apparent to Bridget Jones’. I write under her own name, but also have several pen names, which include Jessica Fox, Georgie Carter, Holly Cavendish and Lucy Hepburn. My boyfriend says he has many women all rolled into one!

I am published by Orion, Pan Macmillan, Harper Collins and Notting Hill Press. Although I love the UK, I now live in the beautiful Caribbean where I continue to write romances, teen novels and planning that bodice ripper!

Find Ruth Saberton on her site, facebook and twitter

Buy ‘Weight Till Christmas’ on amazon.co.uk

Posted on December 11, 2013, in All I Want For Christmas, guest post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ruth, I’d seen your photos on FB but thought you were on holiday! WOW, Living in the Caribbean! Envious 😀 x

Leave a Reply

