Book review: What Would Oprah Do by Erin Emerson

ImageDear E,
I heard your close friends call you E and I would like to consider myself your friend (or at least imagine it):) These are modern times so instead of writing you a letter or an e-mail, I decided to tell you how much I care about you and your book in a review. Maybe I would’ve even written you a letter and send a Christmas card too, but I don’t have your address and asking you your address would be weird, right?

Well E, your Cate in ‘What Would Oprah Do’ has Oprah, I have you, so I’ll use the power of internet to vent a bit and at the same time show just how great writer you are. Because trust me, I totally can connect to Cate. I mean, I still have my job and a wonderful family that cares about me, but I had crappy days. Lots in fact, and this last period of my life hasn’t been great either. I have deadlines at work, lots of stress and had teeth extractions and root op, all of this crap in just a month. I know, I should be thankful it’s nothing serious and I’m healthy and young (let’s say 34 is young, ok?) and have wonderful people around me, still sometimes we feel like we’re falling apart though everything seems fine on the surface.

So at times like this, we read a book or watch TV, hang out with friends who can make us feel a bit better..or we just imagine what would it be like IF we were someone else. Or we imagine what our life would be like if we were just a but younger, smarter, richer…
Cate thinks she’d be happier if she were adopted by Oprah. I’m cool with that, though the thought of it is way too funny LOL But I get it, she needs to vent (just like I do now) so she writes all these HILARIOUS e-mails to Oprah, who’s her idol. I loved reading them and love Cate’s humor. She has all the reasons to feel down, jobless, no money except savings to get her through just a few months, a cheating ex-boyfriend who left her for his boss and no idea what to do with her life. BUT she has a great sense of humor and DREAMS! You know, I wish I am more like Cate, she falls so many times but is always promptly back on her feet. She didn’t seem like a loser to me, as lost as she appears to be. She actually seems like someone I would love to hang out with, even be BFF with.

I loved how she tries to be a better person, how she doesn’t give up despite so many things going wrong. The thing is we people sometimes give up too early and never see most of our dreams fulfill. If we could be more persistent, if we could be more like Cate, I think this world would be a better place. I truly believe this.

Maybe we need someone like Cate’s friend Vivian, that lovely and generous and oh so wise lady, to guide us? YES! We all need someone like Vivien, experienced and kind and always ready to help us. Gosh, I loved Vivien and her energy. And you know what E? I never expected this book to have spiritual elements, and I was so surprised how well they fitted the story. Once I got to them the story reminded me so much of Elizabeth Gilbert’s ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ and I loved that one too.

Dear E, I know you can’t adopt me, because first off I might be older than you and second I’m miles away. BUT your book already did enough for me. I found it not only funny and unique, but also inspirational, deep and life changing. Many would NOT expect chick lit to be life changing, but here you are, proving them all wrong.

Your novel is among the TOP 5 debuts I’ve ever read, which means that I really really enjoyed it and I hope you’ll surprise me with another novel soon.

With love,
A X

My rating 5/5

ANANDA SIGNATUREBuy ‘What Would Oprah Do’ on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Find Erin Emerson on her site, facebook and twitter

Posted on November 30, 2013, in review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wonderful review Ananda! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

