Book review: Christmas Carol by Michele Gorman

711F3HBVQrL._SL1280_*ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Michele Gorman is a well known chick lit author and yet this is the first book by her I’ve read. What’s worse is that few months ago I bought two of her previous works, ‘Single in the City’ and ‘Bella Summer Takes a Chance’ and haven’t read them YET!
No, I’m not lazy or a slow reader. It’s just that lately I never seem to have the time for books I buy to read just for pleasure. I try very hard to keep up with the books I am sent for review, not to mention having a job and being a mommy to two.
But when I saw this beauty on  Notting Hill Press’ site I knew I HAD to request an ARC.

‘The difficult thing about Christmas is that it doesn’t come all at once. It builds up like a festive toxin until the immune system is overwhelmed.’

For many readers, reading a Christmas story in September can be crazy, but not for me. I can read them every day of the year and enjoy them the same. Now that I think of it, I may even say these holiday stories are my favorite, they always seem to get me in a good mood, make me smile and warm my heart. Because Christmas is all about smiles and love, right?

Well, not for Carol, the biggest Scrooge in modern history. She hates everything about Christmas and this year she’s supposed to spend it with her family and 3 ex-boyfriends – UNDER THE SAME ROOF!

You know what, I would never ever want to be in Carol’s shoes, because there would be so many unpleasant situations to avoid. And to be frank, I could never imagine myself to be in her position either.
But anyway, back to Carol. She’s soon to find out why all of her relationships so far have been nothing but a disaster, and what she will discover is not gonna be pretty. But life gives us lessons everyday so we better start paying attention, right?

I absolutely loved the beginning of the story. I simply couldn’t wait to find out how will Carol meet all of these guys from her past. But as I was approaching the end I realized I really couldn’t understand her. She’s indecisive and seems to like all of these guys. I just wanted her to make up her mind once and for all. Is it Robert she wants, Karl or Skate? She seems to feel the butterflies for each of them, and that my friends I couldn’t understand. I loved her sarcasm and sense of humor but it was really really hard for me to connect to her.

However, I loved the writing, all of the descriptions and the setting. I always wanted to visit Scotland and now I just feel like I want to even more.

Despite not connecting with the MC, I love the message this short read reveals by its end. Even the biggest Scrooges do have their miracles on Christmas.

If you’re a fan of chick lit or a sucker for Christmas stories I advise you to check it out. Strongly advised to consume it with hot choc and some Christmas music on. 🙂

My rating: 3/5

Image

Posted on October 2, 2013, in review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love me a good Xmas story ~ this one’s on my TBR !!!

  2. Who doesn’t love a book about Christmas? As you mentioned, I’ll have to get some Hot Chocolate and read it during Christmas!

    Great review!

    Clare x

Leave a Reply

